Persimmon and Almond Butter Cookies

“Today me will live in the moment unless it’s unpleasant, in which case me will eat a cookie.” – Cookie Monster

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

True words of wisdom if you ask me, and real words to live by especially on one of these drab Mondays.

Whenever I’m in a bit of a funk (aka running on 4 hours of sleep), the kitchen is where I can find my zen. I start my soul searching journey by rummaging through my pantry and fridge looking for possibly harmonious ingredients that can sooth my high strung heart.

On this particular occasion, I discovered a pair of overly ripe persimmons that had gone too soft for my preference, yet too beautiful to toss. If you are unfamiliar with this luxurious fruit, you really need to experience it for yourself. It’s flavors are incredibly complex with wonderfully creamy and rich characteristics.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Sadly, I find that usually baking recipes are so chock-full of sugar and fats that it hardly makes a difference what other components are added in. For example, it may be shocking news to some that pumpkins actually don’t tastes like whipping cream and caramel topping. That is why in this recipe, I really wanted to spotlight this “fruit of the gods”. These cookies are soft, crumbly, and hold just a touch of sweetness and spice to highlight those naturally occurring notes in the persimmon itself. The almond butter also serves not only as a delicious nutty component, but is a great monounsaturated fat alternative when used in baking as compared to butter or even peanut butter.

Ah this pairing is really a match made in heaven. If I’m being honest, it was quite difficult to shoot photos for this post without snacking on my subject of interest. Now that I think of it, I had originally started  with maybe a little over a dozen, yet by the end two or three seemed to have disappeared. A real mystery I’d say.

By the way is there chocolate in my teeth?

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

 

Spiced Persimmon and Almond Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 persimmons, peeled
  • 1/4 cup Justin’s honey almond butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 oz. 60% cacao baking chocolate
  • Sliced almonds

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine whole wheat flour, brown sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl.
  2. Transfer peeled persimmons and almond butter into a food processor and blend until smooth.
  3. Pour batter into the bowl of dry ingredients and mix until well combined.
  4. Roll 1 Tbsp balls of cookie dough and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake from 12-15 minutes.
  5. Transfer cookies to a cooling rack. Melt chocolate in a small bowl over low heat.
  6. Dip cookies into the melted dark chocolate and place on a parchment paper to set. Sprinkle with almond slices for garnish.

 

Leave a Reply

