White Bean and Ponzu Hummus

Some call it a blasphemous take on a classic dish. Some call it a collision of cultures. Either way, someone please take this plate away from me before there’s none left to share.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

You know that mob of one-and-done condiments, sauces, or spices that sit on your refrigerator door? The ones that had the privilege to see the light of day for that one inspiring recipe but have yet to even received a second glance since then? Well I present to you a new avenue of creativity to bring those dusty jars and bottles back to life.

Yes, I am very much guilty of this condiment hoarding. My fridge and cabinets are filled will a whole plethora of condiments specifically of asian origin in my many attempts to find my roots through a culture experience in the kitchen. Sadly, they have not had as many opportunities to showcase themselves as I would hope, until the white bean and ponzu hummus came to existence.

As you may know by now, the majority of the recipes I dish out often come from a concoction of the random leftovers scattered throughout my kitchen. Its almost like some kind of challenging puzzle game I create for myself where I can use whatever I can find to be arranged together in a scrumptious manner. Honestly, this is my method of learning how to cook and remain inventive.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

So heres is my method. Take some kind of food you know that works, in this case hummus. Usually if you break down any popular food item, the components are made of something creamy or fat based, paired with something acidic, and seasoned in a salty, sweet, or spicy manner depending on the direction you, the chef, desire to take it. Now the fun part. Assign one of those neglected condiments to each taste category and that is when all the doors of possibilities swing open!

In my recipe, the cannellini beans served as my base, balanced out with the acidity from the ponzu yuzu, saltiness of the soy sauce, and all creamed together with a bit of sesame oil.  The spectacular thing about hummus is it can truly hold any flavors and spices  you decide to throw its way. Even beyond the many methods in which it can be used, it serves as a great alternative for typical party dips or appetizers such as mayo or ranch dressing.

Give it a go my creative humans and please share with me your delicious hummus inventions! I would love to take a peak of what you and the remanence of your refrigerator door can concoct.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

White Bean and Ponzu Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 can 15 oz cannellini beans

  • 1 Tbsp ponzu yuzu

  • 1/2 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce

  • 1 tsp ginger, grated
  • 1/4 tsp salt

  • 1/4 tsp white pepper

  • Nori sheets, crushed
  • 1 tsp toasted white sesame seeds

Directions:

  1. Pulse cannellini beans in a food processor until roughly blended.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients of spices and sauces and blend until smooth and creamy.
  3. Top with crushed nori sheets and toasted sesame seeds and serve with fresh vegetables or crispy crackers.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. loveandumami says:

    This looks seriously amazing! I love trying out new combos for hummus. The nori on top is a wonderful idea as well!

    Like

    1. hsucchini says:

      Thank you so much! If you do give it a go, please let me know how it turns out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

